Hold me longer

I brought myself to you, dragging my feet like one with a limp. 

Walking away from everything upon my back, lifting my hands in praise.

Twisting and twirling smiles to what I thought wouldn’t be you. 

My heart did sink to my feet when you did strike your first blow, leaving me ’empty-chested’ 

Love me you did, otherwise you wouldn’t have set me free

But the cracks, the wounds and bruises remain.

As I fold my arms around my legs and refuse to let me go

I hold on to you, all I ever hoped you would be, everything I ever wanted you to do, anything good you never said. 

I hold on to you, letting go of myself, my worth, my truth.

Shattering inside while gaining an ever glowing smile.

Leave a Reply

