Little- girl breakable dreams

I have guarded myself against little -girl breakable dreams

Of white princess ball gowns, summer dresses and flowers in the wind

I knew life would not necessarily grant me those

So I reinvented them and custom-made ’em

To fit my aloof, grim, sincere, grounded  mood

Little did I know

They are exactly what life hands everyone down

If not materialized

they are dreamed upon;

institutionalized

Even in my own anti-consumerism, anti-patriarchy, quasi feminist

quasi ball gown loathing mind

I cannot avoid them

since your smile happened

and I keep telling myself nothing means anything

. . .a poem unfinished

 

Leave a Reply

