I know, you forget

She smiles, avoiding the stray look in his eyes. ” I know you forget how you used to look at me. From across the room, the other side of the table, and even when you were ever so close. I know you forget. How your eyes used to smother me. And I had to part my lips to take a breathe. I know you forget. You just cannot help yourself. You even forget what you used to say to me, when you held my hand. I know. How the morning dew used to wake me to your voice. It’s not that bad. You even forget how hard it was to keep my sanity when you first walked away from me. I know you do. So I remember. I remember those days, I hear the breaths and relive the feelings until your ghost is gone. And someone else sings me out of bed. I hope that by then you will forget I was never mad.” She smiles, looking straight ahead in his forgetful eyes. 

Leave a Reply

