Can I 

Some people see people and reply with disgust. 

Some people see people and only that; people. 

Some people see people and reply with pitty. Or hurt. Or fear. 

I see people. And I see their glory. Equally with their pitfalls. Equallu their fear and shame. Even when they have none. I see the fine lines between their skins. 

When I see you. I have to. Catch my breath. While you’re freefalling into the arms of death. I see you roaring alive. Like nothing I’ve ever met. 

Do I get to reach out my hand and scratch. The itch. The one thing you can’t get to by yourself. 

Do I get to reach out and hold. You in my arms. Make this moment the one thing you never forget. 

Can I see you in my eyes and smile. Bring you relief. Deliverance from all the things keeping you from getting ahead. 

We both move on. Within the bat of an eye. And we’re gone. Unlike the itch. Unlike the sorrow. Unlike the doubt. 

Leave a Reply

